Mom For A Week

21 Apr

I know I say every week is crazy. And I mean it. As a college student, I’m constantly trying to juggle class, my school work, work and having a social life. However, this week is the craziest week I’ve ever had. The sole reason is because I’m kidsitting and housesitting for Brianne Whitworth and Mike Baine as they are on their honeymoon all week. Together they have five kids. Can anyone say Brady Bunch? The kids are 12, 10, 7, 6 and 3. They are definitely good kids but they are not with out their craziness. Even if they were perfect angels, five kids is a lot to think about and keep track of. Thankfully I have two other campus girls helping me out. I actually really enjoy being a mom for a week and it hasn’t turned me off wanting to be a mom (at the right time in the future), but not to five kids! I’ve been driving around a mini-van, bathing, cleaning up after accidents, doing laundry, cooking dinner that will somehow please all of them and finding some fun things for us to do. Its really challenging making all five kids happy, last night was especially tricky. But I’m glad I’m able to serve Brianne and Mike and that they get to have a vacation together.

Because of the craziness, I’ve been living out of a suitcase in my car, forgetting important items like my camera to school and missing my roommates a ton. I was able to have the night off on tuesday and had some good prayer time at bible talk. Only one more week in Brumby, makes me sad. Then I went to a birthday party and we just hung out outside eating pizza, fellowshipping and swinging on a swing. It was such a nice break. I wish I had had my camera but it was great because it felt like summer and we all just were having fun and not worried about all the upcoming school work and finals. So it was really encouraging.

After this week, this is what I wish my job was:

Professional Sleeper

People addicted to the snooze button should consider pursuing a career in sleeping. Yes, you can actually get hired to work in your PJ’s and catch some zzz’s. Professional sleepers doze off for a living, usually as part of sleep research projects, to help scientists and doctors figure out the mysteries behind sleep disorders. Photo by Shutterstock.

Here’s some fun links of things I’ve found around the web:

~ 70’s engagement shoot, SO FUN!

~ The shoot reminds me of a Jane Austen novel.

~ LOVE the bike idea with the bright yellow and blue 🙂

~ My photo teacher posted this today and its incredible, I hope one day one of my pictures will be on here but thats a big dream!

~ I think this picture is so cute!

~ one of my friends posted this as their facebook status and its inspiring: “I would rather be what God chose to make me than the most glorious creature I could think of; for to have been thought about, born in God’s thought, and then made by God, is the dearest, grandest, and most precious thing in all thinking.” – Calm My Anxious Heart

Hopefully soon my life will slow down and I can actually post some photography i’ve been working on lately…


Leave a Reply

