A Peaceful Moment

10 Feb

Theres a moment in the middle of trying to survive the freezing cold and the horror and destruction of mass amounts of snow and ice. Its the moment that the snow first starts to fall.

It started to snow in Athens tonight and as I drove home from studying late at the SLC, I was in awe watching the snow fall. Its so white and fluffy and beautiful. My friend Deanna was being a pessimist and pointing out to me that it was basically just rain but I have decided to see it in a positive light at the moment. Snow falls differently then rain and therefore makes it more pleasant at the start. It feels like a little gift from God. It is just so peaceful and majestic πŸ™‚ I LOVE IT!

When we got home I spent and extra minute outside just staring at the snow and I prayed and just thanked God for this little gift. I stood out there and felt my mom’s presence as I watched the snow. I know that she would have loved it. It reminds me of Gilmore Girls where Lorelei and Rory always take a walk in the first snow of the season. While this isn’t the first snow of the season, I felt it was appropriate to have my moment with my mom in the snow. It was a happy, peaceful moment.

Heres some fun old school pictures in the snow that my siblings will probably hate me for later…

i think this may be the only picture of my mom in the snow at a young age

Pretty impressive snowman...and i'm pretty sure we still own those ear warmer head bands...

So grateful that I grew out of my awkward stage, at least i hope so...

it didn't snow often in Texas so when it did, we got overly excited

snow always made her beyond happy

the major snowfall of '09

A Texas white Christmas '09

A Georgia white Christmas '10

Snowpocalypse, Athens '11

MY FAVORITE πŸ™‚

 

2 Responses to “A Peaceful Moment”

  1. philipweiss87 February 10, 2011 at 1:22 am #

    Hi beamanjm, your a peaceful moment post is really one particular of the most beneficial substance that :-bd.
    Dont forget to visit back my blog (http://probloggernews.com/submit/?url=https://jordanmariephoto.wordpress.com/2011/02/10/a-peaceful-moment/), glad to meet you… Thanks… πŸ™‚

  2. Candice Lorraine February 10, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    I am so proud of you. Your mom was beautiful….and you are the spitting image of her. I am so grateful to have walked life with you this far and cannot wait for more journeys to come. I am so amazed by how you have grown and handled all life has thrown at you. I love you Miss J. Hope you have so much fun in the snow πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

