Childhood

1 Jun

My dad is in the process of selling our house. Its the house that I have lived in since I was six so its pretty much the only one I remember. All my memories from almost my entire life are in that house. My room is still sponge painted with two different shades of purple, just as I wanted it when I was 13. Most of the pictures posted up all over the house are of my two siblings and I because my mom wasn’t big on having pictures taken of herself. She also made a shrine to each one of her kids after they graduated high school. In her bedroom, above her dresser, there were three pictures blown up and framed. Each one was one of our senior pictures and its weird to look at them all next to each other because in the pictures we were all the same age but obviously at different times. Its a weird feeling having to pack up your childhood and move it somewhere else. I had to sort through everything in my room and in the house that belonged to me or that I wanted and figure out how to pack it up and move to my apartment in athens. In the process, I learned a lot about myself. I found my diary from when I was 11 and laughed at all the silly things I wrote in it. There was even a scrapbook type thing that I made with a description of my life each up until fifth. That was really interesting because there were things I wrote in it that I hadn’t remembered happening. And then going through things in high school and finding things like the mums that we made for homecoming. It was a strange sensation throwing them away because I actually got emotional about it. I mean, there’s no reason I would want to keep four huge flowers with ribbons streaming from them and probably weigh a pound each but the fact that my mom and I made them together made them special. Sometimes it felt like I was throwing away the past but at the same time I have no use or room for them in the future. My life is moving forward, which is good, and those memories aren’t going to go away just because we sell the house but it is sad that that era of my life is over.

One Response to “Childhood”

  1. Rob in Kennesaw June 9, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    I have a 10 year old daughter who won’t throw anything away. We’ve lived in the same house since before she was born and reading this made me cry. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

