“If I knew your name and address I would send you a bouquet of freshly sharpened pencils”

14 Feb

Valentine’s Day is such an interesting ‘holiday’. Its what every kid and couple loves and every single person over the age of fifteen dreads.

It dawned on me today that I used to love Valentine’s day. Not because I had a someone special to share it with but because it was just fun to show your love to your friends and family and a fun excuse to get dressed up and have a dance party. I have some interesting memories of valentine’s day. My first date ever was on Valentine’s day. It was the year of 2003 and I was an awkward 13-year-old 8th grader. I had frizzy hair, braces and terrible sense of fashion. And yes I have pictures…

One reason I used to love valentine’s day is because for my mom it was another excuse to give us gifts. She gave us movies, cds, money, clothes, candy, etc. One year, my parents were in London with my brother for valentines day and she felt so bad for leaving me home along that she gave me like 3 gifts. It was super encouraging since my love language is gifts.

Your perspective on valentine’s changes when you are living on your own and surrounded by dating couples. But I’m going to focus on the positive side of things today and be grateful for all the love I do have in my life. I received a card in the mail from my dad and a package from my cousin with sour patch kids and godiva chocolate. :) Yesterday, I spent the day with Hannah and Abi Burke and we made delicious homemade funfetti cupcakes with dyed pink icing. We decided to look at v-day as another excuse to bake, not that we need one. We dropped some of to some friends of ours last night and their excited reaction was definitely worth it. I love giving people gifts and encouraging them. Tonight I am going to dinner with a few girls just so we can encourage each other.

On Friday, the girls in our ministry had a lock-in at our church building and the boys surprised us with a Justin Bieber performance and baked goods.

Wish I had the video of their performance…it was so entertaining i literally could not stop laughing.

Some fun v-day links to look at:

~ Heres a cute v-day engagement shoot that I found.

~ BHLDN launched today! Sadly they don’t have a lot of color choices for their bridesmaids dresses…

~ Another cute v-day photo shoot.

And now I will share with you some old valentine’s pictures…

Daddy/Daughter dance 2005

Daddy/daughter dance 2006

V-day dance 2009

anti v-day dance party 2010

 

And for laughs…

this was from my first date...

One Response to ““If I knew your name and address I would send you a bouquet of freshly sharpened pencils””

  1. Chelsea February 15, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    Hahahahaahahah I love that you put that bottom picture in here!! I love love love you sister…you are wonderful and thank you for alwasy feeling the need to include me in your blog posts :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

